For account approval and general support, email migi@paidforumposting.com or go to https://discord.gg/HtwZ9YD

Re: How proficient are you with computers?

wizzard

I have several years experience with computers.

I had my first computer when I was 14. It was an Amstrad CPC464 with a tape drive and green screen.

My latest computer is running Ubuntu Linux 8.04. I am starting to look at buying a mac, I have really liked the look of them and how stable they are for many years.

However the only downside is how expensive they are.

*bows down to the computer masters of the thread*

I'm more what you would call a software expert, I suppose.  I've mastered most programs and forum creation websites; however, I become 100% useless when it comes to my laptop crashing.  I've been battling Ad ware and Malware over the past few weeks and am a tad embarrassed to say that if my hubby weren't an ex-IT Consultant then I wouldn't be here right now.  (Yes, hubby saved my online life!)

• 2 weeks later...

Well, I've known computers since 1999. I started out with Windows 95 and ran upto XP when I met Linux in the form of Ubuntu Breezy Badger. I continue to use Ubuntu along with Vista now. There are some stuff that just cannot be done on a Linux installation.

I could consider myself to be quite good with installation of hardware or software on computers and I can also troubleshoot quite efficiently.

I could actually call myself an addict now coz all that I do day in and day out is hanging out on the Internet.

The saying "I know just enough to be dangerous" applies to me when it comes to computers.

I have been using computers since floppy disks really were floppy and the internet was just basically a BBS system. I am self-taught and proficient on many aspects of software and functionality (I'm one of those strange folks who actually read those huge manuals that came with the computers years ago), but I know precious little in regard to the inner workings of my machine.